2017/11/03 14:25


Santa Anita Park

October 24 & 25, 2008

Changes continued for the Breeders’ Cup as it celebrated its 25th year under the San Gabriel Mountains in California. For the first time, the main track races were conducted on a synthetic surface. The series, now worth $25.5 million in purses, was also expanded to 14 races with the addition of the Turf Sprint, the Juvenile Fillies Turf and the Marathon. The name of the Distaff was changed to the Ladies’ Classic. The new name was further christened with a new star, the 4-year-old filly Zenyatta, who came from last to first to win under jockey Mike Smith. The next day, another female force emerged when the 3-year-old Goldikova defeated male rivals in the Mile. Midnight Lute won the Sprint for the second straight year. Foreign horses dominated the day’s action as the Irish-bred Conduit won the Turf, and Raven’s Pass won the Classic. In all, overseas runners captured five races. Garrett Gomez rode a record four winners over the two days and earned the Bill Shoemaker Award as the Most Outstanding Jockey.

2008 Breeders’ Cup Results

Replay Race Winning Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
Classic Raven's Pass L. Dettori J. Gosden H.R.H. Princess Haya of Jordan and Darley Stable
Las Vegas Dirt Mile Albertus Maximus G. Gomez V. Cerin Brandon L. and Marianne Chase
Filly & Mare Turf Forever Together J. Leparoux J. Sheppard Augustin Stables (George Strawbridge Jr. )
14 Hands Winery Juvenile Fillies Stardom Bound M. Smith C. Paasch Charles Cono LLC
Juvenile Turf Donativum (GB) L. Dettori J. Gosden H.R.H. Princess Haya of Jordan and Darley Stable
Mile Goldikova (IRE) O. Peslier F. Head Wertheimer and Frere
TwinSpires Sprint Midnight Lute G. Gomez B. Baffert Mike Pegram and Watson & Weitman Perfomance LLC
Turf Sprint Desert Code R. Migliore D. Hofmans Tarabilla Farms, Inc
Filly & Mare Sprint Ventura G. Gomez R. Frankel Juddmonte Farms (Khalid Abdullah)
Sentient Jet Juvenile Midshipman G. Gomez B. Baffert Darley Stable
Juvenile Fillies Turf Maram J. Lezcano C. Brown Karen N. Woods and Saud bin Khaled
Longines Distaff Zenyatta M. Smith J. Shirreffs Mr. and Mrs. Jerome S. Moss
Marathon Muhannak (IRE) P. Smullen R. Beckett Richard Pegum
Longines Turf Conduit (IRE) R. Moore S. Stoute Ballymacoll Farm