2017/11/03 14:30

Lit de Justice

History was made in the 1996 Breeders’ Cup Sprint when Jenine Sahadi became the first female trainer to capture a Breeders’ Cup race. She conditioned the versatile performer Lit de Justice who started his career in France and made his first nine starts on turf courses. In 1995, he won his first outing on dirt and captured a Grade 3 at Santa Anita two races later. Lit de Justice changed surfaces and distances after that and put in a late rally to run third in the 1995 Breeders’ Cup Sprint behind Desert Stormer.

Sahadi elected to restrict him to one turn races in 1996 and her late running sprinter would put in exciting final furlong performances. That running style can often cause traffic problems, but Corey Nakatani kept him clear of trouble in a bulky 13-horse field in the Sprint. Rallying from last, they put in a scintillating performance to drive to a 1 1/2 length tally.

Lifetime Stats

Breeders’ Cup Winner
1996 Sprint

Previous Races

October 26, 1996Breeders' Cup SprintWOODBINE11
August 17, 1996Pat O'Brien H.DEL MAR33
July 28, 1996Bing Crosby Breeders' Cup H.DEL MAR31
April 06, 1996Potrero Grande Breeders' Cup H.SANTA ANITA PARK34
March 02, 1996San Carlos H.SANTA ANITA PARK23
February 04, 1996Palos Verdes H.SANTA ANITA PARK31
January 07, 1996El Conejo H.SANTA ANITA PARK 1
December 17, 1995 HOLLYWOOD PARK 2
October 28, 1995Breeders' Cup SprintBELMONT PARK13
September 16, 1995Vosburgh S.BELMONT PARK113
August 19, 1995Pat O'Brien Breeders' Cup H.DEL MAR31
July 15, 1995Hollywood Park Budweiser Breeders' Cup H.HOLLYWOOD PARK 2
June 18, 1995 HOLLYWOOD PARK 2
May 20, 1995Rich Cream H.HOLLYWOOD PARK 4
April 14, 1995Commonwealth Breeders' Cup S.KEENELAND23
March 11, 1995Potrero Grande H.SANTA ANITA PARK31
February 18, 1995El Conejo H.SANTA ANITA PARK 6
January 18, 1995 SANTA ANITA PARK 1
December 03, 1994 HOLLYWOOD PARK 1
October 16, 1994Col. F. W. Koester H.SANTA ANITA PARK25
August 27, 1994 DEL MAR 1
July 30, 1994 DEL MAR 2
June 12, 1994Prix du Chemin de Fer du NordCHANTILLY33
June 04, 1994Prix Pegase Prix DurbarMAISONS-LAFFITTE 1
April 29, 1994Prix Prince ChevalierSAINT CLOUD 2
November 27, 1993Prix TantiemeMAISONS-LAFFITTE 2
November 10, 1993Prix ContessinaEVRY 2
October 10, 1993Prix de la RoseraieLONGCHAMP 5
September 29, 1993Prix Aly KhanEVRY 8
April 02, 1993Prix BubblesMAISONS-LAFFITTE 4
November 18, 1992Prix des ChenesEVRY36
September 19, 1992Criterium d'EvryEVRY 2
September 01, 1992Prix d'OmmeelEVRY 3
August 22, 1992Prix Challenge d'Or PiagetDEAUVILLE 4
August 01, 1992Prix YacowlefDEAUVILLE 4